Malawians go to polls in 7 by-elections


Francis Kasaila , DPP candidate casting his vote at Mpatsa Polling Centre

ZOMBA (MalawiTalk) – Malawians are voting in seven by-elections and two local government polls in what is seen as referendum for the popularity of political parties a year and half after the general election.

People started voting as early as 6am with strict adherence to covid-19 preventive measures.

Malawi Electoral Commission is distributing free face masks to voters and polling staff.

People in several polling centers in Chikwawa East have started voting at 6am including at Nyangu/Nyakamba polling station which is at Nyangu primary school in Makhwira South Ward.

MEC’s  presiding officer for Nyangu Polling Center, Denson Salapa, says everything has started well.

“People have started voting at 6am and so far we have not experienced any challenge. Although people are not turning out as we expected we’re hopeful that in the afternoon they will come in large numbers.”  Said Salapa.

During the May 20, 2019 elections UDF’s candidate, Rodrick Kumbanyiwa, was declared  winner but the result was challenged in Court and led to the nullification of the poll by the Blantyre High Court, hence the by-election.

Francis Kasaila , DPP candidate casting his vote at Mpatsa Polling Centre

The six candidates  contesting for the Chikwawa East Parliamentary seat are; Rosemary Singano Kalidozo ( Independent ), Rodrick Samu Khumbanyiwa (UDF), Fyson Duncan Mainjeni (UTM ), Ginford Mabo Maulidi ( DPP ), Phoebe Mtembenuzeni (Independent) and Foster Thomson Thipiwa (MCP).

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) is conducting the  by-elections  in Nsanje Central Constituency, Nsanje North Constituency, Chikwawa East Constituency, Ntchisi North Constituency, Zomba Changalume Constituency, Lilongwe Msinja South Constituency, Karonga North West Constituency and Local Government elections in Liviridzi Ward in Balaka West Constituency and Chitakale Ward in Mulanje South Constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top